Morph bug

Discuss Moho bugs (or suspected bugs) with other users. To report bugs to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
wagmun
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 pm

Morph bug

Post by wagmun » Mon Sep 26, 2011 12:46 pm

I found this funny behavior with ASP. I was using ASP 7 and thought it might be some prob with my operational system which was newer (Max OS Lion).
I then downloaded ASP 8 trial and found the prob still continues.
I created a group layer, under which I have three vector layers: face, right ear and left ear.
It all starts with the mainline only. Then, in action view, I create two actions: front and left.
I double click front action and adjust points.
I then double click left action and adjust points.
I go to first frame, open blend morph dial and set full front view. Correct.
I go to frame 30 and adjust full left view. Correct.
Till here, everything fine.
I then go to frame 60 and set full front view again... and that's when I have problems. The shapes don't come back to what should be expectied for the front view. I get deformed shapes.
I've tried with several shapes and views and the problem repeats. If I add a right view, left and right work correctly. But everytime I come back to front view, it's drawn wrong.
Am I missing something here?
Tks a lot for your help.
dueyftw
Posts: 1941
Joined: Thu Sep 14, 2006 10:32 am
Location: kingston NY
Contact:

Post by dueyftw » Mon Sep 26, 2011 1:59 pm

Please post file. Remove layers that are not affected if you don't want to share you unfinished work.

Dale
User avatar
GCharb
Posts: 2202
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 am
Location: Saint-Donat, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by GCharb » Mon Sep 26, 2011 2:45 pm

Here is a morph test I made a while back with 8, does not happen to me, but if it happens to you with this file then the problem is probably on your side!

http://www.mediafire.com/?283ubcjdx0usise
wagmun
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 pm

Morphing bug

Post by wagmun » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:13 pm

Thank you for your reply.
I tested GCharb's "head blendmorph" and it works OK. I noticed that problem is creating the morphs.
I'm posting a simple test file showing the problem
Frame one is frotn view. Normal.
Frame 30 should look left. OK.
Frame 60 should come back to front. Should look like frame one, but it doesn't. It's deformed.
Frame 90 should look left. OK.
Whenever I set front view from then on, it will be deformed.
I also found that wherever I place front view (action), it will be OK. But only if it's first time. If I have used left or right view before, front view will now always be deformed.
Thanks in advance.
wagmun
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 pm

orphing bug

Post by wagmun » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:15 pm

Sorry.
Forgot link to file.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/644026/Test%20morph.anme

Tks
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Mon Sep 26, 2011 3:28 pm

It's not a bug. Blend morph works only in the points which have keyframes. Several points in your actions have no keyframes, so they actually are not being moved in time.
Go to each action and in frame one add keyframes for all the points.


PD: Each point has its independent keys. In timeline, red line show you only the keys of your selected points, gray line show you all the keys of all the points.
If you wanna hold a position for all the points, you must make right click on the gray line and select "add keyframe" that will add a keyframe for all the points on the layer. If you make that on the red line, it will add keyframes only for the selected points.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
wagmun
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 pm

Morphing bug

Post by wagmun » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:22 pm

Tks Selgin
Looks like morphing is more complicated than "help' teaches us.
I really don't know about keyframing every point. To me, it was just creating the actions, and move the necessary points.
I tried right clicking the grey lines for each layer and each action on frame one but nothing changed.
I really dind'nt exepct to be necessary to go to timeline for every action and create a key for each point.
I think I'm missing something in morphing technique, To me, I should create an action, double click it, and move necessary points. That's all.
I'm sending another file with the same problem.
Tks for your help.

Here's the link to the new file.

http://dl.dropbox.com/u/644026/Test%20morph2.anme
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4883
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:24 pm

It has to be more than how the entire software works than only with blend morph.
Anyway, I hope now you can solve this kind of problems.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
jonbo
Posts: 896
Joined: Thu Apr 08, 2010 2:53 am

Post by jonbo » Mon Sep 26, 2011 4:28 pm

There seems to be a problem with the layer ordering. I don't think it works well with blend morphs.
wagmun
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 pm

Morph bug

Post by wagmun » Mon Sep 26, 2011 8:23 pm

I tried jonbo's idea regarding layer order.
It worked with one file. I cancelled layer order and kept the mrophing animation. It worked! I could go back and forth with front and left views.
That means here is really a problem with layer order animation together with blend morphing.
But I then tried the second file (test morph 2) but here, canceling layer order didnt solve the problem.
Still no answer.
It's a project with more than 50 scenes. I'm working on 37, and I used belnding morphing several times before. And I never thought about keyframing to do it, but after Selgin's point, it's something to consider.
But I don't know how.
Thanks for any help..
wagmun
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 26, 2010 10:43 pm

Morph bug

Post by wagmun » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:26 pm

GCharb wrote:Here is a morph test I made a while back with 8, does not happen to me, but if it happens to you with this file then the problem is probably on your side!

http://www.mediafire.com/?283ubcjdx0usise

Nice work, GCharb.
Tks.
User avatar
GCharb
Posts: 2202
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2005 2:31 am
Location: Saint-Donat, Quebec, Canada
Contact:

Post by GCharb » Mon Sep 26, 2011 10:29 pm

Thanks.

Blendmorph is fun stuff!
Post Reply