PNG transparency missing on Mac OS X Leopard version

Discuss Moho bugs (or suspected bugs) with other users. To report bugs to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

TudoR

PNG transparency missing on Mac OS X Leopard version

Post by TudoR »

Hey, I am TudoR. I have been using Moho and now Anime Studio for over four years on a PC machine. Now I am using an iMac running OS X Leopard. There is one thing I could do on a PC that I can't do on the Mac version of AS. When I render a shape, even a simple one like a circle or a square and I save it as PNG, the image resulted does not have transperency around the shape. It is just filled with the background color set in Project Settings. There is only one layer and only one shape on that layer. On the PC version this was never a problem. Could anyone tell me if this is a Mac problem or I just need to set something up in Anime Studio?
Thanks.
TudoR
synthsin75

Post by synthsin75 »

OH MY GOD!!! AS 5.6 has lost the ability to save the alpha channel of a render PNG!! And I'm on a PC. I checked, and 5.5 could do this. WTF? The only solution is to export one frame, if you want to save the transparency.

This is definitely a BUG. :roll:
Genete

Post by Genete »

I don't remember to have the ability of render and save to png with transparency. I'm using linux version and never have seen that before in AS 5.5.
synthsin75

Post by synthsin75 »

In 5.5, saving a render as PNG automatically preserved the transparency.
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

Uh.... don't know what you guys are smoking but alphas and PNGs work fine for me with 5.6 on mac.

-vern
TudoR

Post by TudoR »