missing files

Discuss Moho bugs (or suspected bugs) with other users. To report bugs to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

missing files

Postby imwm » Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:33 am

i used a psd files in my project and i change the place of this files to new location in my PC
moho ask me to replace the missing files and i did then it work great but when i export it the video has a big blue x
every time i open this project it ask for the missing files even if i located last time !
is this a bug

i use moho pro 12.4
imwm
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: missing files

Postby imwm » Sat Jan 20, 2018 8:41 am

Image
that when i press ctrl + r

and when i export

Image
imwm
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: missing files

Postby Greenlaw » Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:07 pm

That means the renderer can't see the file. Did you save the file before rendering it?

FWIW, I normally output PNG layers from Photoshop to avoid problems like this. I recommend Photoshop-Export-Layers-to-Files-Fast. It's much faster than the native version and has more features. One 'gotcha', however, is that it can't overwrite its own exports, so you need to manually delete the existing PNGs before writing a new version.
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3805
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: missing files

Postby Greenlaw » Sat Jan 20, 2018 9:20 pm

Swapping the layered PSD file after moving it is working here.

That said, I've seen a similar problem happen at work when a co-worker opened a file I've set up and Moho couldn't find some of the files on her system. But it still okay when I opened the file on my computer. It was a mystery because all the files were stored on the network and not local. We finally got that solved but I'll have to think about what went wrong and how we fixed it. (Sorry, that was a while ago.)

I'm guessing the same thing or something similar has happened to you. I'll keep thinking about this. It might help if you list the path of the original file location and the path to the new file location.

Question: are you using UNC paths, mapped paths, or both? I don't know if it matters but it might help to know.

Hopefully, somebody will pop in soon with more helpful info.
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3805
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: missing files

Postby imwm » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:25 am

i do what you suggest and export the psd file to png files i replace each file and the problem still there
yes i do save before exporting the animation and even restart my pc
imwm
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: missing files

Postby imwm » Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:30 am

okkkk i just know now why this problem cause

when i move the files i move them to a file with the name ( _files name) i add _ to the file name to make it upper the files and that what make the issue.
i remove the _ and it works great now :D
imwm
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: missing files

Postby Greenlaw » Sun Jan 21, 2018 9:36 pm

That's strange because I often use the underscore in filenames. Although, when I think about it, I don't think I normally use the underscore at the beginning of the name, but maybe within the text or before the sequence number if it exists. Not sure that matters but maybe it does? Will test this myself when I get a chance.

Thanks for following up. Will keep this in mind in case it happens to me. :)

Another thought: are you sure there isn't a space also involved. A space can sometimes break a path in certain applications. That's pobably not what's happening in your case but I thought I should mention it.
Last edited by Greenlaw on Tue Jan 23, 2018 9:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3805
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: missing files

Postby imwm » Tue Jan 23, 2018 8:13 pm

hi i am so confuse the problem back i dont know why or how !!
imwm
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Thu Aug 18, 2016 5:23 pm

Re: missing files

Postby justoshow » Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:52 pm

Had this same issue. I remove the spaces out of my image file name and it worked!
User avatar
justoshow
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:41 am
Location: Houston

Re: missing files

Postby justoshow » Fri Nov 30, 2018 9:31 pm

Update: It's happening again for me. It's random, I'm not sure why it happens.
User avatar
justoshow
 
Posts: 55
Joined: Tue Dec 17, 2013 4:41 am
Location: Houston


Return to Bug Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron