Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Discuss Moho bugs (or suspected bugs) with other users. To report bugs to Smith Micro, please visit support.smithmicro.com

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Tue Oct 10, 2017 8:46 am

The problem I encountered came about after a few days of using the program. At first everything worked fine and I was following the tutorial to learn the various functions of the program. Now what you said to me could be Layer Movement or Entity Movement.
When you move the timeline cursor, whether it is a design or empty, the center axis cross in the work space moves by following an unwanted path that deforms the drawn object as if it moved to one Spazio3D. This happens from the second frame onwards.
I tried to reset everything I could, I deleted the layer generated automatically when opening a new document but everything was useless, that guide line does not disappear.
This problem prevents me from working with Moho.
I can not even animate a simple shape like a circle because it deforms when I move to the timeline bar.
I kindly ask you to help me solve this problem.
Thank you :D
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby slowtiger » Tue Oct 10, 2017 11:24 am

Things don't move without reason, or keyframes. Duplicate the file and select "Animation > Clear animation from document". After that there should be no deformation whatsoever.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
User avatar
slowtiger
 
Posts: 5099
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Tue Oct 10, 2017 3:53 pm

... the file is always different, I always create a new document and I always clear the animation from document. But do not mind doing this the problem remains.
I would like to post a screenshot to let you know what happens, so I can not do it.
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby hayasidist » Tue Oct 10, 2017 7:20 pm

I have to agree with slowtiger -- things only move if you've told them to move... but it's possible that you don't realise that you've told them to move..

here are a few basic checks:
in edit/preferences
- on the general tab - what is your "start-up file"?
- on the layers/objects tab - do you have "auto center new layers" checked?

from the file menu - select "new" to create a new empty file. There should be just one vector layer called "Layer 1". Is this what you have? Scrub the timeline. Does the crosshair move?

Go back to frame 0 and create a new vector layer. Scrub the timeline. Does the crosshair move?

Go back to frame 0; select the camera pan/tilt tool and scrub the timeline -- do the numbers in the status line change from 0?

hth
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1595
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:44 pm

Hi Hayasidist, thank you very much and slowtiger for the answers you provided.
I bought the program for a few days and I was just studying it to learn how to use it. Probably I ran an unintentional command by going to modify some parameters and this creates the current problem. I've done the basic checks you've recommended me and everything seems to me the norm. It just did not check the "auto center new layers" item, but once selected, it did not solve the problem.
Below I answer your basic check questions. Hello

in edit/preferences:
on the general tab - start-up file = “EMPTY DOCUMENT”
- on the layers/objects tab - do you have "auto center new layers" checked? = “NO” I SELECT THE VOICE BUT IT IS CHANGED
from the file menu - select "new" to create a new empty file. There should be just one vector layer called "Layer 1". Is this what you have?= “YES”
Scrub the timeline. Does the crosshair move?= “YES” LIKE BEFORE
Go back to frame 0 and create a new vector layer. Scrub the timeline. Does the crosshair move?= “YES”
Go back to frame 0; select the camera pan/tilt tool and scrub the timeline -- do the numbers in the status line change from 0?= “NO”
:D
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Wed Oct 11, 2017 1:50 pm

... i reply to "slowtiger":
I tried to duplicate the file, select "Animation" and "delete the animation from the document" but nothing has changed. The cursor, moving in the timeline, continues to move and deform.
:(
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby hayasidist » Wed Oct 11, 2017 2:20 pm

well that has got me confused! If you're able to upload a file that will help.

please make sure that "auto center new layers" is NOT checked! (my bad - I should have been more specific!)

in a newly created empty document (i.e. with just the one layer) - in the timeline - are there any animation channels showing (with or without keyframe markers!)?

if so, are they still there after you run "Clear Animation from Document"?
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1595
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Wed Oct 11, 2017 5:06 pm

... I just created a new blank document that has only one layer.
I do not see channels showing. The timeline is empty. I still did "Clear Animation From Document".
The situation is frustrating. I can not understand why this has happened. I was running the instructions in the tutorial and I'm sure I did not run strange commands.
I tried to open a job before it happened and I noticed:
I have only one layer.
The design is located in frame 0.
Moving to the Timeline nothing happens, the Axis Cross stops.
So everything is fine.
Now, always in frame 0, I've drawn a simple circle.
Moving to the timeline, the circle moves alone without letting it animate and the axle cross stops.
In a new document, however, even if nothing is drawn, the axis cross moves when I move to the timeline.
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby Greenlaw » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:26 pm

Having trouble visualizing what you're seeing. Can you post a screen cap with markups? Also, post the scene itself.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Greenlaw's 2017 Demo Reel

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 2859
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby Greenlaw » Wed Oct 11, 2017 6:45 pm

Do you have Show Path enabled? If not, turn it on. If you don't see a path for the moving element, maybe that will tell us the motion is coming from thing else, like point animation, an action, or it's being influenced by a bone.

I want to be sure I'm not misreading your description. It sounds like you're seeing motion in a relatively clean document (only a circle drawn at frame 0)? Is this correct? If so the added motion is very puzzling.

Screen caps and a scene really would help because this doesn't make sense.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Greenlaw's 2017 Demo Reel

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 2859
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby synthsin75 » Wed Oct 11, 2017 7:56 pm

If there are any frame zero keyframes showing, are they set to noisy interpolation?

Also, make sure your default interpolation isn't noisy.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 5908
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Wed Oct 11, 2017 8:33 pm

how can i send a screenshot? I'm new to the forum and I still do not know all the procedures ...
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby hayasidist » Thu Oct 12, 2017 7:40 am

any file: upload to a file sharing site (there are plenty of free ones around) - and add the url to your message

Some sites allow you to embed an image in posts - use the "img" button if you want to show the picture in your post. Not all file sharing sites allow this - sites specifically intended for image sharing should allow embedding.
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1595
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby Greenlaw » Thu Oct 12, 2017 9:49 pm

maxsavin wrote:how can i send a screenshot? I'm new to the forum and I still do not know all the procedures ...

Use the Upload To TinyPic tab under the Post A Reply window. That's probably the easiest way for this forum.

Sometimes, TinyPic gets a little flakey though, and it may not be available in every country. If it doesn't work, there are many image servers you can upload to as described by Hayasidist.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Greenlaw's 2017 Demo Reel

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 2859
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles

Re: Moho 12 - Layer Movement or Entity movement

Postby maxsavin » Fri Oct 13, 2017 10:33 am

Thank you for your suggestion. I try to give you a screenshot ... :)
maxsavin
 
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Oct 09, 2017 2:09 pm

Next

Return to Bug Discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest