Using different phonemes?

Discuss Papagayo issues here

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Using different phonemes?

Postby Víctor Paredes » Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:00 pm

Hi, I'm looking for this in the forum, but haven't found it yet, so maybe it's better to just ask :)
Do you know if there's a way in Papagayo (or Papagayo Mod) to use different phonemes? Currently, we are not using the Preston Blair's ones, but +20 other phonemes with their own names.
It would be great to know a way to adapt the software to use them instead.

Thank you very much for any help.
Víctor Paredes - Former Moho 12 Product Manager
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4782
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland

Re: Using different phonemes?

Postby hayasidist » Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:47 pm

which papagayo version are you using?

V2 has its dictionaries "compiled in"; but IIRC V1 had them as separate files.

The basic principle is:

text (words) are used to reference the Carnegie Mellon University (CMU) Pronouncing Dictionary. This is a phonetic breakdown in N American English using 39 phonemes - e.g. Aluminium (without lexical stress) is translated as


Papagayo then maps those to the PB phoneme set.

So, to use you own mouth shapes, it's necessary to change the mapping table to map the CMU-39 to something other than the PB set

But I haven't tried it, so I don't know the details


[edit] Found the V1 files: there's a file called (a python source file) which you can update. Note that the CMU source mapping includes lexical stress (suffix 0, 1, 2) on some phonemes
User avatar
Posts: 1740
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Return to Papagayo

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest