Walk cycle: layer translation or only bone movement?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

andrewjs

Walk cycle: layer translation or only bone movement?

Post by andrewjs »

I have seen a variety of tutorials on walk cycle poses and keyframes, but once the walk cycle is created, the character needs to move across the screen. This is where tutorials vary and I'm wondering how most people do it.

One suggested to translate the layer while the cycle repeats. Certainly easy enough.

I've also seen it mentioned where using bone locking on and off to lock the grounded foot and actually get the character to walk across the screen. I would imagine this is much more time consuming, whether you use bone locking or not. Also with this method, you can't really cycle the walk, right? or they'd keep going back to take the same few steps forward and get nowhere.

i'm a newbie so appreciate comments on this.

andrew
Genete

Post by Genete »

I have found two ways to make the travel across the screen.
One is make the walk cycle with lock bones (feets) and repeat the cycle just moving the layer forward the same amount than the walk cycle length and the character backwards same amount than the length of the walk so it continues at more or less the same place in two consecutive frames. The problem is that you have to redo the lock bones for each cycle, because they are absolute to the layer and not relative to the walk cycle. So it works bot time consuming every time you repeat a walk cycle.