Incompletely boned...

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

macweenie

Incompletely boned...

Post by macweenie »

Hello all,

It will come as no surprise that I am new to Moho (pause for jeering to subside 2, 3, 4...) but not to animation in general. My question is about boning a character PROPERLY.

I am currently working on a project with some singing fetuses which were all originally created in Photoshop and saved as .png files for the transparency. Each fetus is currently comprised of layers saved in a group named for example "guitarist". So far I think this much of my arrangement is correct, but the problem (I think) is that instead of one skeleton controlling multiple layers I have a bone layer for the front arm, the body, and the fret hand (in the case of the guitarist).

Now when I manipulate the bones in the body for a rocking/head thrashing motion the arm does not move with the body. I can only imagine that I need to have ONE bone layer attached to multiple layers. Is this possible? If it is can anyone direct me to a good tutorial? If this is not the case can anyone please clue me in on the correct technique I would need to use - unless the technique is that each layer will need to be moved individually to match up as close as possible.

Anyhow, thanks for listening and I hope this makes enough sense that an answer can be offered.
mwtoons

Post by mwtoons »

You can lock layers to a bone so that a layer follows the bone. I have an animation with eyes on a switch layer seperate from my layer with body parts, so I locked the eyes switch layer to my "head" bone so the eyes move with the head. Look at the bone tools, there is a "bind layer" tool. Select the layer then the bone using the bind bone tool. This might solve your problem, if I understand you correctly.

...on a side note...your animation sounds pretty twisted(ie. .....singing fetuses ......) ....no offence....
macweenie