reset the origin to the center

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
buijon
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Rhode Island
Contact:

reset the origin to the center

Post by buijon » Sat Nov 11, 2006 5:40 pm

What numbers do i have to type in to make the origin recenter on the visible area? I Moved layers around instead of moving the points on the layers, so i need to reset them all to the same origin.

does the origin effect the layers relation to move with the bones?
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5525
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Sat Nov 11, 2006 10:47 pm

Of course: the layer origin will be the point around which the layer rotates etc.
buijon
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Rhode Island
Contact:

Post by buijon » Sun Nov 12, 2006 7:27 am

so how do i reset it to the exact center of the 'stage' like when you first start a file?
Jimmy
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Aug 08, 2006 10:14 am

Post by Jimmy » Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:23 am

Hi buijon,
Have you tried this:
Activate the "Translate Layer" tool and then at the tooloptions enter 0 for X position and 0 for Y position.
Not sure if that is what you need??

Jimmy
User avatar
Rasheed
Posts: 2008
Joined: Tue May 17, 2005 8:30 am
Location: The Netherlands

Post by Rasheed » Sun Nov 12, 2006 11:39 am

If you want to recenter your workspace, press the ESC key.
buijon
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Rhode Island
Contact:

Post by buijon » Sun Nov 12, 2006 8:25 pm

Jimmy wrote:Hi buijon,
Have you tried this:
Activate the "Translate Layer" tool and then at the tooloptions enter 0 for X position and 0 for Y position.
Not sure if that is what you need??

Jimmy
thats kind of what i need, but that just resets the layer position. I was to reset the origin of the layer to the middle while the vector on the layer stays where it is
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Post by Ramón López » Sun Nov 12, 2006 9:26 pm

But press "Reset" button or do the same that Jimmy said avobe but using the "Set Origin" tool (that with this icon +) instead the"Translate Layer" tool.
buijon
Posts: 35
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 10:50 pm
Location: Rhode Island
Contact:

Post by buijon » Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:38 pm

Ramón López wrote:But press "Reset" button or do the same that Jimmy said avobe but using the "Set Origin" tool (that with this icon +) instead the"Translate Layer" tool.
When you use the 'set origin' tool anywhere you click becomes 0,0. I need to know how to put it at the very center of the viewable area using that tool. The exact center like when you make a new file, because i need to do it to several layers.
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Post by Ramón López » Sun Nov 12, 2006 10:53 pm

buijon wrote:When you use the 'set origin' tool anywhere you click becomes 0,0.
But... TRY AGAIN! Cause "Set Origin" tool have never worked as you describe above...
User avatar
7feet
Posts: 840
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:45 am
Location: L.I., New Yawk.
Contact:

Post by 7feet » Mon Nov 13, 2006 1:48 am

Maybe some clarification from one of the comments above - the Layer Origin doesn't really affect how a layer, if attached to a bone, moves. It's really only relevant to 2 things. First, layer rotation. Second, layer ordering in 3D space (if you are using "sort by distance" in the projects settings) is determined by the layers origin, and not by anything that's in the layer. Bones don't really care what the layers origin is, if the layer is attached to it, that layer is going to rotate around the the "root" point of the bone regardless. If it didn't, we'd all go completely bonkers fiddling with origins every time we moved something.

If you need to rotate several layers around a common point and you've already translated them around around, drop them in a group layer and just set the origin for the group.
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Post by Ramón López » Mon Nov 13, 2006 2:24 am

7feet wrote:It's really only relevant to 2 things. First, layer rotation. Second, layer ordering in 3D space
And well... third, for how a layer is moved/affected by a bone, when you are using "Flexi-Bind Layers", of course...
User avatar
7feet
Posts: 840
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2004 5:45 am
Location: L.I., New Yawk.
Contact:

Post by 7feet » Thu Nov 16, 2006 12:07 am

I stand corrected. I can't remember the last time I used the flexi-binding, so I completely forgot about that.
Post Reply