Text Counter

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
profcodegen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:34 pm

Text Counter

Post by profcodegen » Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:58 pm

Moho Debut 12. I'm building some instructional videos for first year Engineering, and I need to make a counter. As far as I can tell, my only option seems to be a layer for each digit in each position (e.g. 1-20 means 10 frames for the ones digit and 2 frames for the 10's digit and use the layer effects to turn the frames on and off as needed. Is there a better way?

Thanks.
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5509
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: Text Counter

Post by slowtiger » Thu Mar 28, 2019 10:10 pm

If you need to show exact numbers, responding to some other element in the scene, a switch layer is one good way of doing this. It contains a layer for each number 0 - 9, plus one empty layer if you don't want leading zeros. Build that switch once, then duplicate it for as many digits you need. You can easily create a "running numbers" animation by switching through all numbers and make this a loop, then stop at the desired value.

Another solution would be a number strip within a mask: again 0 - 9, but arranged vertically on one layer, and the mask only showing one number at a time. This allows for an old-fashioned "numbers on a roll) effect, but needs more precision with placing each number.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
profcodegen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Text Counter

Post by profcodegen » Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:05 am

I haven't gotten to the switch layer in the tutorial yet, so I can look at that. That seems almost exactly
what I need. Thanks for the pointer.

Is there a way to do layer masking in Debut? The tutorial manual seems to suggest that Layer Masking is Moho Pro Only.
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7271
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Re: Text Counter

Post by synthsin75 » Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:09 am

profcodegen wrote:Is there a way to do layer masking in Debut? The tutorial manual seems to suggest that Layer Masking is Moho Pro Only.
Yes, you just have to use bone layers instead of group layers.
profcodegen
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu Mar 28, 2019 9:34 pm

Re: Text Counter

Post by profcodegen » Fri Mar 29, 2019 1:10 am

Thanks.
Post Reply