How do i make Loops and put them in the timeline?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

darklarik

How do i make Loops and put them in the timeline?

Post by darklarik »

Hello, newbie here. I was wondering what is the process to create a loop onto a rig.

I have this really crude character who is an Baby with Angel wings and Kyle Gass's face playing a guitar. I want to create loops on the wing flapping to play throughtout the animation, and another on his Left floating hand to go up and down on the Guitar (which is set to be a switch), im trying to make a funny adaptation of Master Exploder for a School assignment.

Please use big words, im slow and not very good on the technical terms :C Have mercy!
Greenlaw

Re: How do i make Loops and put them in the timeline?

Post by Greenlaw »

There are basically two ways to create loops.

The obvious way is to copy and paste the keys multiple times on the timeline. If the animation isn't too complicated, and this is essentially a one-off, this method is fine.

The other way to set the last key in your loop to Cycle. Do this by right-clicking over the key and select Cycle. The Keyframe window will appear and you'll see settings for the Cycle. Absolute will set the key to exact frame entered in the box. Relative will count back the number entered in the box.

A lot of times, I'll copy the first frame to the position of the last frame to ensure that loop is exact. If you do this, you want the loop to start after the first frame, not on the first frame, otherwise you will be repeating that keyframe.

When you use Cycle, the animation will repeat until it the playback marker encounters a new keyframe. Then it will play the new animation that follows.

You'll need to set a loop keyframe at the end of every channel that is a part of your loop. This could be bones, shading fx, point animations, etc., anything that's keyframeable.