... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby mrc » Mon Mar 19, 2018 8:35 pm

Hello everyone,

when I select multiple layers, choose the layer transform tool and then type in some new values in the toolbar these values are only applied to the last selected layer.

Have I overlooked a key combination or something?

Marc
mrc
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:36 am

Re: ... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby hayasidist » Tue Mar 20, 2018 10:51 am

seems to work ok here (win 10 22203) - although I did get a one-off glitch (that I couldn't reproduce) when trying to scale multiple layers - only one did get scaled. But that hasn't happened again!? The layer transform tool code seems to process selected layers correctly (there are loops that process "all selected layers" where I'd expect them). If you're consistently getting the problem - i.e. only one layer out of many selected being updated - could you upload the file (strip out artwork if / as necessary)?
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1805
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: ... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby mrc » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:24 am

When I create a couple of vector and bone layers it all works fine.

It does not work, though, when I import elements (rigged characters, PNG backgrounds, SVG files) be it by dragging into the document or going through the menu. Then it's only the last selected that scales.

Marc
mrc
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:36 am

Re: ... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby hayasidist » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:30 pm

yeah - there's something not right ... I just imported the "bigsby" character from the library and tried various ways of selecting the immediate (not expanded) child layers of the main bone layer - and scale does not seem to want to work on all those selected - seems to leave one. More evidence gathering needed, but I think this will end up getting logged as a bug.
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1805
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: ... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby mrc » Tue Mar 20, 2018 12:37 pm

Thanks for checking and testing.

Marc
mrc
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:36 am

Re: ... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby mrc » Fri Mar 23, 2018 10:24 am

I think I have found some consistency in the behaviour.

* Image layers need to be selected bottom to top for numerical scale input to be applied to all. CTRL-selecting seems possible.

* Bone layers need to be SHIFT-selected bottom to top for numerical scale input to be applied to all.

Otherwise ony a single layer is affected. Yes, probably a bug.

Marc
mrc
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Wed Feb 14, 2018 10:36 am

Re: ... numerically transform multiple layers at once?

Postby hayasidist » Fri Mar 23, 2018 11:28 am

it's logged! (39744 for those who care about such things)
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1805
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England


Return to How Do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest