Adding a shadow.

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Adding a shadow.

Postby toymaker1 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:51 pm

Hello. I am trying to add a perspective shadow to a marching Gurkha soldier character.(It is a cut-out character imported form Photoshop). Everything works fine except that I cannot seem to attach a grey shadow color to the shadow layer. I have enclosed an image showing the view when I preview the animation. No grey fill color appears. Does anyone have any advice about this?
I dont think think the image has appeared in this message. I inserted a screenshot in between two texts saying '[img]' but I can't see an image.



[img]GURKHA%20SHADOW%201.png[/img]
toymaker1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: London

Re: Adding a shadow.

Postby Shelde » Tue Nov 28, 2017 6:56 pm

Hi Toymaker1

Upload your image to a free image hoster such as: http://imgur.com/
Then when you have the name file (ending with .jpg, .gif, .png, etc) (such as this: https://i.imgur.com/4rutw73.gif)
then add the IMG brackets around --> (when you press quote on here you see how the gif below is inserted)
Image

While I'm new myself & haven't tested the shadow capability of Moho yet, you can also easily create such a shadow with Final Cut for example afterwards!
User avatar
Shelde
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2017 12:36 pm

Re: Adding a shadow.

Postby toymaker1 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 7:20 pm

Thanks for your response Shelde.https://imgur.com/V46mCvd

I have attached an image of the preview. I cannot seem to attach a fill for the shadow. - It comes out the same as the character.
I dont know if you can see the image.

Regards.
toymaker1
 
Posts: 23
Joined: Mon Mar 01, 2010 5:25 pm
Location: London

Re: Adding a shadow.

Postby synthsin75 » Tue Nov 28, 2017 8:15 pm

Easiest way is layer shading (Shadows tab of layer settings) with 1 offset, 0 blur, opaque shading color, and inverted. Then just add your transparency and blur on the General tab. Render to see the result.
- Wes
ImageImageImage
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6595
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma


Return to How Do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 2 guests