Smart Bone Switch Layer Interpolation

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Smart Bone Switch Layer Interpolation

Postby DK » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:55 am

Can anyone confirm switch layer interpolation does not work when applied to a smartbone?
I set up a simple eye blink and between manually set keyframes the interpolation works
but when I set up a smart bone action the interpolation does not work.

Thanks
D.K
User avatar
DK
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Australia

Re: Smart Bone Switch Layer Interpolation

Postby synthsin75 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:03 am

Yeah, switch interpolation has never worked with smart bones.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6315
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma

Re: SB Switch Layer Interpolation (QUICK EYEBLINKS)

Postby DK » Fri Nov 24, 2017 4:35 am

Thanks Wes...I think I remember something about this before.

I got so tired of doing eyelid set ups and masks so I thought I would share this simple
way of doing them really quickly. Wouldn't stand up to Disney standards but for
tight time schedules it works great.

Image


Just two sets of eyes exactly the same in a switch layer. Turn on switch layer interpolation
then for the closed eye set, bring the eyeball fill forward and use a skin texture then squash the
eyes down as if they were closing. Then place your open closed keyframes on the timeline.

Image



Cheers
D.K
User avatar
DK
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Australia

Re: Smart Bone Switch Layer Interpolation

Postby synthsin75 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:17 am

Wow, secondary motion in a blink. Who'd a thunk it.

Simple and effective.
- Wes
Image
User avatar
synthsin75
 
Posts: 6315
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma


Return to How Do I...?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest