how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
ShadowCory
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:55 pm
Contact:

how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Post by ShadowCory » Thu Dec 18, 2014 3:52 pm

I see how to work interval settings now, but is there a way to convert an existing animation to be on 2s? My thought was to use a script that bakes the animation to every frame, then scale it to be half the time, then rescale it back up. Hopefully deleting every other frame, then setting all keys to stepped.
Plan didn't work because the script did not seem to work. It ran thru the animation a few times, but did not write any key frames.
I downloaded the script from the Anime Studio Scripts site.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4888
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Re: how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Post by Víctor Paredes » Thu Dec 18, 2014 4:07 pm

Just select all the keyframes, right click over them and select interval>2
I have been animating a lot on 2's this months, maybe this tutorial I made can be useful for you
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26783
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigger and animator in Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
ShadowCory
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Post by ShadowCory » Thu Dec 18, 2014 7:21 pm

Thanks for that video, Selgin. It was an inspiration to me :-) . It seems when I try to highlight the bones then select the key frames and right click, the interval selection is grayed out. I will try again tonight. Not at home atm.
ShadowCory
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Post by ShadowCory » Sat Dec 20, 2014 2:01 am

Ok, cool! I was doing it wrong, by clicking on the first setup frame when I was multiselecting the keys. Once I skipped that one, I was given the option to set the interval.
Here it is on 1s:

And on 2s:

Of course, I am going for a pencil or line animation style. Does the 12fps detract from it? I am not married to all the conventions, so I don't mind breaking a rule or two every now and then if the art of the piece as a whole shines through better.

Cory
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5430
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Re: how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Post by slowtiger » Sat Dec 20, 2014 5:23 pm

Very nice. Have you tried a render without the shadow? I think that would look even more like pencil then, this shadow practically screams "DIGITAL" all over it.
AS 9.5 MacPro Quadcore 3GHz 16GB RAM OS 10.6.8 Quicktime 7.6.6
AS 11 MacPro 12core 3GHz 32GB RAM OS 10.11 Quicktime 10.7.3
ShadowCory
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2014 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: how to convert current animation to be on 2s

Post by ShadowCory » Sat Dec 20, 2014 8:20 pm

slowtiger wrote:Very nice. Have you tried a render without the shadow? I think that would look even more like pencil then, this shadow practically screams "DIGITAL" all over it.
Ha ha! Absolutely right. I will do that. I am using that shadow like people used lens flares in 3d renders when it first became available. :lol: Guilty of using a feature just because I can :wink:
Post Reply