Bones are stretching my character

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

LoganB

Bones are stretching my character

Post by LoganB »

Hello everybody,
I am having a problem with Anime Studio (Debut 9) and the bones specifically. I have added the bones and bound them to my character, added angle restrictions on a few of them. And thought I would be done. Then I noticed that, using the manipulate bone tool, If I moved any bone, for instance the arm, from a vertical position to an extended, or horizontal position. And the arm actually looked longer and thinner. I began studying it and the outstretched arm definitely is longer and thinner than the hanging arm. Any help would be appreciated, I am new to this software but I do not think I can find any setting that might make this occur. I can get pictures if that would help, but I do not know how to add the screenshots to the post.
Thanks for any help!
neeters_guy

Re: Bones are stretching my character

Post by neeters_guy »

This is probably caused by the bone strength influence. If your setup allows it, separate the parts and use the offset bone tool.

For screenshots, use a photo sharing service like photobucket and embed the url in your post.
LoganB

Post by LoganB »

Thanks, just so I do it right, I separate the individual bones and then I do not know how to use the offset bones tool?
LoganB

Post by LoganB »

I just watched a tutorial and it looks like the bone offset tool is just used so that you can keep the bones separated, in my character I used the bind points and bind layer tools and put the bones influence, strength, all the way down.
Any other suggestions?
slowtiger

Post by slowtiger »

Whatever works for you - there's no "one true way". But the Bone Offset tool is in fact for construction only, to be able to apply flexible binding to overlapping parts while still separate bone influence to them.