Cannot use Physics enabled group with Switch layers?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
DrGhaedi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: USA

Cannot use Physics enabled group with Switch layers?

Post by DrGhaedi » Tue Dec 04, 2012 12:20 am

It seems that you cannot apply the physics engine to groups which contain switch layers? Seriously?
All I'm trying to do is get a switch layer of mouths to fall into a container and bounce around. But when I press play,the mouth stays in position seemingly invariant to the physics engine.
Any ideas?

Simple experiment ... Try it for yourself...
1. Create a group layer and enable physics.
2. Placed a switch layer of mouths into this group layer (via the stock props from ASP9).
3. Press play ... Mouths stay suspended
just because nobody understands you does not make you an artist
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Re: Cannot use Physics enabled group with Switch layers?

Post by Ramón López » Tue Dec 04, 2012 2:29 am

Hi, just add some bones to the Switch Layer and, if necessary, bind them to points accordingly to your needs. They should react to physics and, therefore, the affected vector points. Just take in mind that bone's Physic Region is what is taken into account for collisions in this case, and not vector shapes itself like on the other case but, again, you can play with Bone/s size and Physic Region to (by approximation) get everything react as expected.

Greetings, and hope it helps.
♪♫♬ Y si no puedes estar (animando) con el programa que amas
Ama el programa con el que estás (animando)
♪♫♬
User avatar
DrGhaedi
Posts: 29
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 6:04 pm
Location: USA

Re: Cannot use Physics enabled group with Switch layers?

Post by DrGhaedi » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:15 am

Ramon! You are the man! Thank you so very much! Worked exactly like you said! I wish this forum had an iPhone app.

Ramón López wrote:Hi, just add some bones to the Switch Layer and, if necessary, bind them to points accordingly to your needs. They should react to physics and, therefore, the affected vector points. Just take in mind that bone's Physic Region is what is taken into account for collisions in this case, and not vector shapes itself like on the other case but, again, you can play with Bone/s size and Physic Region to (by approximation) get everything react as expected.

Greetings, and hope it helps.
just because nobody understands you does not make you an artist
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Re: Cannot use Physics enabled group with Switch layers?

Post by Ramón López » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:30 am

You're welcome! And... well, any "pretext" to play with physics now and them is always welcomed too :).
♪♫♬ Y si no puedes estar (animando) con el programa que amas
Ama el programa con el que estás (animando)
♪♫♬
Post Reply