I've got a problem...

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
dsaenz825
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

I've got a problem...

Post by dsaenz825 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 4:33 am

I know its been a while since I've commented here but I've got this really annoying issue that I cant seem to figure out...
I have a character that I made in ASP5 but the outlines on her eyelashes looks like if it expanded when ever I export an image or video file on ASP7. Here are the pics of what I mean. ->

ASP5:
Image

ASP7:
Image

Does anyone have any idea as to why this is happening? ...
I love comments for they help me improve on my weaknesses.
Vagabond
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:44 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Post by Vagabond » Tue Jan 11, 2011 2:44 pm

Maybe you have layer shadow on.

or a stroke effect in ASP5 that isn't in 7.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4979
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Tue Jan 11, 2011 5:03 pm

Vagabond wrote:or a stroke effect in ASP5 that isn't in 7.
All stroke effects works on AS7, if you open an old file you can even edit their parameters.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigged animation supervisor in 'My father's dragon' - Lead Moho artist in 'Wolfwalkers'
Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
dsaenz825
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by dsaenz825 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:03 pm

I did not use layer shadow or any type of stroke effect on this character. Thanks though.
I message heyven a while back about this but I never got a response back, is he still on this forum?
I love comments for they help me improve on my weaknesses.
Vagabond
Posts: 106
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2009 11:44 pm
Location: Connecticut
Contact:

Post by Vagabond » Tue Jan 11, 2011 9:55 pm

selgin wrote:
Vagabond wrote:or a stroke effect in ASP5 that isn't in 7.
All stroke effects works on AS7, if you open an old file you can even edit their parameters.
Wow, you're right. I assumed that since they weren't listed there they wouldn't work. The name doesn't appear in the styles pallette but I can definitely edit it...

Now the only thing I can think of is
A: The eyelash shapes have a stroke applied in ASP7 and not ASP5
or
B: the brush used in ASP5 isn't in the ASP7 brush folder

OR
C: The shape is all rounded edges now and not completely sharp

Other than that... I'm clueless.

Good Luck dsaenz825! Character looks good except for the goth makeup.

Thanks Selgin for the heads up.
Last edited by Vagabond on Wed Jan 12, 2011 2:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4979
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Tue Jan 11, 2011 10:15 pm

I don't know, but maybe the way AS assigns width values changed with the versions. Maybe you only need to decrease the width a little on the conflicted areas to solve the problem.
I know it's not a too fancy solution, but should work.
Víctor Paredes
Former Moho Product Manager
Rigged animation supervisor in 'My father's dragon' - Lead Moho artist in 'Wolfwalkers'
Cartoon Saloon
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
dsaenz825
Posts: 97
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:51 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by dsaenz825 » Tue Jan 11, 2011 11:41 pm

Lol, goth make up. :lol:

I've tried that but nothing seems to work, I've been stuck with this error for quite some time. I guess the only thing left to do is remake the eyes from scratch, I guess this mystery will go unsolved...

Oh well, back to editing! :D
I love comments for they help me improve on my weaknesses.
sbtamu
Posts: 1911
Joined: Tue Dec 15, 2009 5:05 am
Location: Texas
Contact:

Post by sbtamu » Wed Jan 12, 2011 12:18 am

Can you post the .anme file or at least post the layer with the glitch?
Sorry for bad animation

http://www.youtube.com/user/sbtamu
Post Reply