Blur - definate line issue

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
User avatar
foundmarble
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:33 am

Blur - definate line issue

Post by foundmarble » Sun May 24, 2009 11:19 pm

Image

As you can see in the picture, the line is defined (green hill). I do not want the line. I want a gradual blur.

The green hill is on a vector layer. The layer is blured at 10 (i have tried an even greater number with the same results, line is in different spot).

I have also tried to use the effect, soft edge on the object (the hill), however, I get the same line.

I guess I could recreate it in PS, blur it and import in AS as a PNG (w/transperancy), but I thought it would be easier to create in AS

Any suggestions or reasons?

Thanks in advance,
Found M
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Sun May 24, 2009 11:42 pm

Need to see before and after. Is the tree edge a "flat" color? Does it have something behind it? Also need to see an "uncompressed" rendered image. It looks like jpg compression artifacts.

I have not encountered this "line" before myself.

-vern
User avatar
Mikdog
Posts: 1896
Joined: Tue Jul 05, 2005 3:51 pm
Location: South Africa
Contact:

Post by Mikdog » Sun May 24, 2009 11:53 pm

Hmm...I think you may have the LINE enabled on the shape you created. Try selecting the shape, Q, then click on the hill. Check to see that ENABLE OUTLINE is unchecked in the styles window. Then try re-render. If that doesn't help, which is really what I think your issue might be, then also make sure that you haven't got the sky and hill on same layer, but I'm pretty sure you don't...

Experiment with just a flat colour shape without any outline. Doesn't give me a line when I tried it, at least nothing I could recognize.
User avatar
foundmarble
Posts: 91
Joined: Fri Nov 05, 2004 12:33 am

Post by foundmarble » Mon May 25, 2009 12:51 am

Thanks for the response.

Nope, I just have the fill on the hill. (I'm a rhyming fool) :shock:
Here is the file:
http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=7d73 ... f6e8ebb871

Didn't include png (not needed to see effect).

If you turn off the backgroundsky and render, you can see the same effect with the right most background tree (definate line from the blur).

It almost seems as if it needs more steps between the fill and the first step in the blur.

Thanks again,
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Mon May 25, 2009 3:45 am

Definitely a problem.

I'm surprised I haven't seen this before. Thanks for pointing it out.

-vern
Post Reply