Copy keyframes on 3D object layer to a group layer?

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
Nimphaea
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:46 pm

Copy keyframes on 3D object layer to a group layer?

Post by Nimphaea » Fri Feb 13, 2009 11:36 am

Hello everybody!

I have a question about the timeline.

I have made an animation on one layer where I had a 3D object imported. I animated this layer with keyframes on the rotate layer x/y/z. Now, I had some problems yesterday which are solved now, thanks to the help of synthsin75: viewtopic.php?t=12852

But now I have a new problem. I want to copy the frames on the 3D layer I animated first, and paste them to a group layer. It looks like it is not possible...? I tried the copy / paste command in the timeline itself and in the top menu. What am I doing wrong...?

I really hope somebody can help me with this problem too. Thank you very much in advance!
User avatar
synthsin75
Posts: 7218
Joined: Mon Jan 14, 2008 11:20 pm
Location: Oklahoma
Contact:

Post by synthsin75 » Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:10 pm

Yeah, I'm afraid that one's got no easy solution. The only thing I can think of would be to copy those layer rotation values one by one for each keyframe. Probably easier to just redo it all in the group layer.
Nimphaea
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 12:46 pm

Post by Nimphaea » Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:20 pm

synthsin75, thank you very much again for your help. I really appreciate it!

It's disappointing to hear that it is not possible to copy the animation. In the meanwhile, I was already busy animating it again. A lot of work, but since there is no other way, I'll have to do it.

Thanks again for your help :) !
User avatar
slowtiger
Posts: 5460
Joined: Thu Feb 16, 2006 6:53 pm
Location: Berlin, Germany
Contact:

Post by slowtiger » Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:56 pm

If you plan ahead a bit next time, you could put the 3D object into a group layer, do the animation on that layer, then duplicate that group layer after animation is done, and erase the 3D object in that duplicate layer.
Post Reply