help with color

Wondering how to accomplish a certain animation task? Ask here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Post Reply
MadisonEve
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:10 am
Location: Somewhere in arizona
Contact:

help with color

Post by MadisonEve » Sun Feb 10, 2008 8:03 pm

can you change color on every frame or not? I want my animation to look like it has blunt color changes throughout it.
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4978
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Sun Feb 10, 2008 8:09 pm

yes, just select the shape you want on the frame you want and change the color. it will add a keyframe in the shape channel.
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Sun Feb 10, 2008 8:14 pm

Yes.

Select the shape and change the color in the style palette on a key frame. You may have to click on the time line settings and check the boxes for the fill and stroke channels. They are turned off by default.

When these are checked in the time line settings the keys for the fill and stroke animation channels will show up in the time line.

If you use "named styles" be careful. The saved style itself gets keyed. If it is used on more than one fill shape the color animates on all the shapes it is used on.

Plus if you want to change the named styles color you have to select it in the style palette to see the keys in the time line.

-vern
MadisonEve
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:10 am
Location: Somewhere in arizona
Contact:

Post by MadisonEve » Mon Feb 11, 2008 12:24 am

everytime I change the color the way you guys explained, it keeps turning blank on the screen.
Will it be different if I render it?
User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Post by heyvern » Mon Feb 11, 2008 4:38 am

Can you define "blank"?

-vern
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
Posts: 4978
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Ireland/Chile
Contact:

Post by Víctor Paredes » Mon Feb 11, 2008 2:22 pm

MadisonEve wrote:everytime I change the color the way you guys explained, it keeps turning blank on the screen.
Will it be different if I render it?
are you using effects?
if so, then render will help. if you are just changing the color, it means you are making something wrong.
MadisonEve
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Dec 31, 2007 5:10 am
Location: Somewhere in arizona
Contact:

Post by MadisonEve » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:10 am

hmmm.... what effects?
It's more like when I change the color on the screen, I dont get the color effect I want to go with the picture. It just changes to the color I just put on the scree.
User avatar
fiziwig
Posts: 197
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 8:00 am

Post by fiziwig » Tue Feb 12, 2008 12:40 am

Are you SELECTING the object before you change the color? Otherwise, you will just be changing he default color, not the color of the object you've selected. Does the object you select show the checkerboard pattern to show that it is selected?

--gary
Post Reply