CONTROL BONES FROM PARENT LAYER (FINISHED)

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

RichardU
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: A BONE CONTROL SCRIPT (FINISHED)

Post by RichardU » Sun Jul 21, 2013 3:22 pm

Once you name the master and slave bones the same, it seems you can no longer directly manipulate the slave bone. So, for example, if I am creating a slave smartbone, I need to rename the master bone temporarily so I can move the slave bone while setting the smartbone points.

Is everyone else experiencing this?
RichardU
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: A BONE CONTROL SCRIPT (FINISHED)

Post by RichardU » Sun Jul 21, 2013 4:57 pm

I'm also running into angle problems. I don't have any of the master or slave bones parented, but on my slave layer a bone that goes up has a rotation of 0 and on the master layer, a bone that goes up has a rotation of 180. Is there a way to change that?
dkwroot
Posts: 659
Joined: Thu May 02, 2013 6:56 am
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: A BONE CONTROL SCRIPT (FINISHED)

Post by dkwroot » Mon Jul 29, 2013 12:46 am

RichardU wrote:Once you name the master and slave bones the same, it seems you can no longer directly manipulate the slave bone. So, for example, if I am creating a slave smartbone, I need to rename the master bone temporarily so I can move the slave bone while setting the smartbone points.

Is everyone else experiencing this?


This isn't a bug, it's a feature. The child bone layer gets angle information from the parent bone layer, so you can't move the child bone while it's in this state. You'll have to rename the bone temporarily or disable the script to do smartbone activity. It's just how the script works.


RichardU wrote:I'm also running into angle problems. I don't have any of the master or slave bones parented, but on my slave layer a bone that goes up has a rotation of 0 and on the master layer, a bone that goes up has a rotation of 180. Is there a way to change that?



If you want the angle of the parent/child bones to match, you have to set them to the same angle on frame 0. My script only transfers angle change between the layers, not exact angle data. If you want to do bone parenting, you have a do it a certain way.

RichardU
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: CONTROL BONES FROM PARENT LAYER (FINISHED)

Post by RichardU » Mon Jul 29, 2013 2:54 pm

Thanks for the explanation. I sort of had the sense that ASP used relative vs. actual bone angles. It's unfortunate that bones are unable to control layers that are in sub-groups, or I could just put all my bones in the master layer and not need a workaround. Thanks for all your work.
Post Reply