Control all switch layers and bones from parent bone layer

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

User avatar
heyvern
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Re: Control all switch layers and bones from parent bone lay

Post by heyvern » Thu Jul 11, 2013 5:58 pm

Smart Bones are a new feature that wasn't around when I created the script. I don't think that the type of smart bone control would work with this script as it is.

I have to check the script to be sure this will work, but I think controlling the smart bones themselves from the parent layer would be the way to go. Not sure if this will work because the bones need to have the same names to control other bones and this would interfere with how Smart Bones work (action and bone same name).

I think the script needs to be revised to make this work. But it shouldn't be very hard at all. All I would need to do is add a tiny modification to allow the control bones to have some kind of extra extension on the name so it won't interfere with smart bones.

So the control bone name would be:

Code: Select all

Bone1-c
and it would control:

Code: Select all

Bone1
Will check into it.
RichardU
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Control all switch layers and bones from parent bone lay

Post by RichardU » Thu Jul 11, 2013 6:54 pm

Awesome. That would truly create "One bone layer to control them all."

I also just saw this:
http://animestudioscripts.com/script.php?script=44

The script is embedded on a bone layer, and matches the motion of named bones in that layer with matching bones named the same in a parent layer to make mixing of bone animation on one layer with bone in child switch layers etc.
RichardU
Posts: 155
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 6:53 pm
Location: Atlanta

Re: Control all switch layers and bones from parent bone lay

Post by RichardU » Thu Jul 18, 2013 3:09 pm

I just tried the script I mentioned and couldn't get it to work with smartbones.

Which leaves me with a puzzle. Right now, if I move a bone in the master bone layer, I can't use smartbones to change anything within a lower bones or group layer. For example I have a head bone on the master bone layer, and all my head components (eyes, nose, mouth, hair, etc.) in a lower Group layer. So if I move the head bone, I don't see any way to, for example, move the hair. Am I missing something?
User avatar
rrahh
Posts: 39
Joined: Mon Jan 28, 2013 3:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Control all switch layers and bones from parent bone lay

Post by rrahh » Sun Jan 12, 2014 1:33 pm

First of all i have to say thank you Heyvern for yet another great script!
It really opened up a whole new world of possibilities to me.

Like "otonal" im very interested in that
heyvern wrote:alternative version that DOES cycle through between keys
i could make the setup of my dreams...

anyhow, the script is great, thank you!
Post Reply