Script for exporting/saving AS 7 Pro to older versions of AS

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

fracturedray

Script for exporting/saving AS 7 Pro to older versions of AS

Post by fracturedray »

It is mostly in the title.

Is there a script for saving the AS 7 Pro files as older basic versions for other people to learn from?

I tried using jEdit to make a file work in an older version of AS but it didn't work. I'm not a programmer so I wasn't sure if it was even possible to do it with version 7.
Last edited by fracturedray on Thu Aug 05, 2010 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Hi animation world.
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

Working on it.

I was creating a "stand alone application" for this but then... AS 7 came out in the middle of my development with a new file format (I was going from 6 to 5). Some of the other features I was adding to my application are already in AS 7 so I am thinking I will go back to a lua script to save older versions.

Doing this in lua will be easier (and cheaper for me since I don't have to buy the application I was using for development). I already have some pre-existing lua scripts to parse the file format, it's just a matter of completing my file format comparisons. I need to create files in each version with every single possible feature so I can see what needs to be removed to go backwards.

-vern
Víctor Paredes
Site Admin

Post by Víctor Paredes »

Great news, vern. thanks.
Image Image Image Image
Moho Product Manager

www.mohoanimation.com
Rigged animation supervisor in My father's dragon - Lead Moho artist in Wolfwalkers - Cartoon Saloon - My personal Youtube Channel
CartoonLearning.com

Post by CartoonLearning.com »

Vern,

Have I told you lately that you're awesome? I wanted to give away some older AS files, but I opened them in AS7 and saved them- ooops.

That plugin would be helpful for the community.