Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Moho allows users to write new tools and plugins. Discuss scripting ideas and problems here.

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby SimplSam » Fri Feb 10, 2017 5:51 am

Image

Demonstrating a simple layer script that overlays the SMPTE Timecode in Moho (Anime Studio) screen and/or video output - for workflow synchronisation and Animatic Storyboard production.


Working Demo: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yeWSgxDqERk
Script Download: https://github.com/SimplSam/moho-smpte/ ... master.zip

Know issues: - Occasional 'random' text (like: 'CPU#', 'Process', 'Project', <Blank> or a <Filepath>) appearing as the Timecode text. This appears to be a Moho buglet within the export/render process, and can be minimised by using Moho Exporter. It can be seen in my demo video @ 00:00:12:05

To use:
(0) - Save ss_smpte.lua file to your computer file system
(1) - Add a NOTE Layer to your Moho project
(2) - Use the Layer properties to Select [General] > [Embedded script file] and choose the saved file: ss_smpte.lua
(3) - (Optional::Render) Set Layer properties to render. i.e. Uncheck - [General] > 'Don't render this layer' - If you want overlay on final video output file
(4) - (Optional::Colorize) Set Layer properties to [General] > [Colorize layer] and choose colour/transparency. This will tint the Note for better visibility
(5) - (Optional::Position) Move the Note Layer on the screen to a preferred position
(6) .... Enjoy!


My Want list:
- Direct script access to SMPTE counter
- Improved graphical Note/Text Box/Layer (Back/Foreground colour set-able, Honours layer scaling etc. etc.)


Tested in: AS10Pro & MH12Pro
Sam @
Image
User avatar
SimplSam
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby Víctor Paredes » Fri Feb 10, 2017 4:58 pm

That is very cool and useful.
I didn't know you could modify a note layer that way.
Thanks for sharing it!
Image
Víctor Paredes - Former Moho 12 Product Manager
My Youtube Channel - My webinars
User avatar
Víctor Paredes
 
Posts: 4730
Joined: Wed Jan 26, 2005 12:18 am
Location: Chile

Re: Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby jahnocli » Fri Feb 10, 2017 6:43 pm

Just tried this out -- worked like a charm! Thanks!
You can't have everything. Where would you put it?
User avatar
jahnocli
 
Posts: 3179
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2004 2:13 pm
Location: UK

Re: Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby SimplSam » Sat Feb 11, 2017 8:59 am

Now working on a new version that uses Vector layer Text.

This brings its own challenges, but has far greater visual versatility.

Sam @
Image
User avatar
SimplSam
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby hayasidist » Thu May 11, 2017 2:48 pm

Hi Sam -- did you finish the Text version -- I've just had need of this useful tool and have found several limitations / features in Moho on render / scale options for notes that were a pain to overcome.
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England

Re: Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby SimplSam » Mon May 15, 2017 5:11 pm

Yes and no. I did a bunch of work on it and then got distracted.

I will tidy-up the code... and provide.
Sam @
Image
User avatar
SimplSam
 
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Mar 13, 2014 5:09 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Realtime SMPTE Timecode overlay

Postby hayasidist » Mon May 15, 2017 5:25 pm

thanks!!
User avatar
hayasidist
 
Posts: 1560
Joined: Wed Feb 16, 2011 8:12 pm
Location: Kent, England


Return to Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest