Fairings...not right yet

(This forum has been closed. Please use the General Moho Discussion forum.)

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, slowtiger

jeff

Fairings...not right yet

Post by jeff »

Glad as I was to see that Lost Marble has finally got round to putting in separate ease-in and out options, I was sorry to see that in practice, they are quite wrong. If you translate a shape across the screen using the two different options, you'll see they still aren't right. In an effort to explain what is needed, I have written a few notes with pictures:

http://www.animationpost.co.uk/notes/fairings.htm

Sorry to sound pompous, but I have been an animator for more years than most of the readers to these forums have been alive. I often talk crap, but I do know a bit about animation. Lost Marble is a great bit of software, but until it gets this bit of the program right, it isn't finished. Come on LM, you're almost there. For the time being, a real ease-in and separate ease-out as shown in my curves will be a big improvement.

Jeff
kdiddy13

Post by kdiddy13 »

I like Moho quite a bit, but I have to agree with jeff on this one. It isn't really ready to be used in animation if the curve controls on the graph aren't updated/corrected/created. The curves are the central most important fundamental concept of animation. Without this most basic of fundamentals, you might as well just use individual keyframes on each frame. Sorry to sound so harsh about this, but this really is a big one on the scale of usable to just a hobby toy.
This was my earlier post. I feel like a jerk for posting it, but I'm leaving this on just to give context to the following thread. Please read all of the thread before you respond to my incorrect, irrational and down right mean post.

I still believe Moho really needs better curve controls, but I don't think that it keeps it from being a decent animation program. My apologies.
Last edited by kdiddy13 on Sat Dec 04, 2004 1:49 am, edited 1 time in total.