Strange visual error

(This forum has been closed. Please use the General Moho Discussion forum.)

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Strange visual error

Postby riledguy » Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:10 pm

I am getting an odd visual error. I am guessing that someone has seen this before and hoping that someone knows what is causing this and how to fix it.

Interestingly when I render out a still frame it does not show the error yet it does show up inthe preview.

Image
His arm and eye are not meant to be connected.

Some examples in motion.
Quicktime version with ugly 'ol cinepac compression
Shockwave Format version
"Boss demon tells me
Oh how he would like to kill me
Wait a minute tough guy
My disease does that for free" - Clutch
User avatar
riledguy
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:06 am
Location: Jamaica Plain (Boston)

Postby heyvern » Tue Jun 06, 2006 5:41 pm

It does sometimes show up in a render.

The best way (the only way?) to get rid of it is to just delete that shape and recreate it. That has worked for me. I spent ages trying to figure out what was going on... then I just deleted the shape and recreated it and the stupid thing went away... so simple.

I have no idea what causes it but I think it has to do with "oddly" defined shapes... I can't elaborate more than that. It usually happened to me on large very complex multiple shapes on one layer... uh... er... sometimes though it happened on simple stuff too... what do I know.

-Vern
User avatar
heyvern
 
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am

Postby Lost Marble » Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:22 pm

This has to do with shapes that have multiple loops welded together. Moho tries to eliminate these whenever possible, but it's not always possible. When you see this, delete the shape in question and re-fill that area. When you fill, be careful to only select the points that make up the outline of the shape.
User avatar
Lost Marble
Site Admin
 
Posts: 2181
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2004 6:02 pm
Location: Scotts Valley, California, USA

Postby riledguy » Tue Jun 06, 2006 10:27 pm

Lost Marble wrote:This has to do with shapes that have multiple loops welded together. Moho tries to eliminate these whenever possible, but it's not always possible. When you see this, delete the shape in question and re-fill that area. When you fill, be careful to only select the points that make up the outline of the shape.


OK, thanks for the help. I will do as said and see if it fixes things. If not I will just rebuild the figure.
"Boss demon tells me
Oh how he would like to kill me
Wait a minute tough guy
My disease does that for free" - Clutch
User avatar
riledguy
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:06 am
Location: Jamaica Plain (Boston)

Postby riledguy » Wed Jun 07, 2006 5:16 pm

The problem. Ok I figured out specifically what was causing the problem and why. As I looked at the way the strange linking to the hand was working I noticed it originated from the brown colored area on the top of the head. So I deleted this out and remade it. Same problem. I did everything as I was supposed to making sure there was no loops and such. The problem was in the way the point were. To select the points that made up the green area it also included all the ones in the brown "problemed area". So what I did that fixed it was add a single point to the brown area making it so the two shapes (brown and green) were differentiated by a point. This made it so the two shapes were seperate rather then the green shape encompassing the brown. This fixed the problem.

Here the the point I added to make it work properly.

Image
"Boss demon tells me
Oh how he would like to kill me
Wait a minute tough guy
My disease does that for free" - Clutch
User avatar
riledguy
 
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Feb 18, 2005 2:06 am
Location: Jamaica Plain (Boston)

Postby heyvern » Wed Jun 07, 2006 8:12 pm

Hah!

Dagnabbit! I should have thought of that.

I have the same problem in the following situation... not a render bug but a shape creation problem.

I tend to do a lot of "alternating" shapes... for belt loops, checkerd stuff etc.. whatever.

I find that I have "trouble" if two adjacent shapes only have "two points" defining the outline.

For instance... try to have a band of alternating color boxes and select every other box to make one shape... no go... you just end up with "one big shape".

I am always sticking in those "extra points" so I can select alternating shapes and make "one shape".

Good catch... those things are hard to find sometimes.

-Vern
User avatar
heyvern
 
Posts: 6964
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2005 4:49 am


Return to Moho 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest