Splotchy effect won't stay still in 3D

(This forum has been closed. Please use the General Moho Discussion forum.)

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Locked
User avatar
gtcable
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:02 pm

Splotchy effect won't stay still in 3D

Post by gtcable » Wed May 24, 2006 3:30 pm

How do you anchor the splotchy effect for fills?

I've built a 3D box in Moho and wanted to have the walls look like marble using the splotchy effect. When the camera moves you see the splotchy effect slide around on the walls.

I've tried using an image texture (both stretch & tile). I get the same results. There doesn't seem to be a way to anchor a texture to the object.

See example Quicktime:
http://www.mps-twcable.com/Temporary/TextureTest.mov

:? Any ideas?
Nolan Scott
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Oct 22, 2004 2:14 am
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Contact:

Post by Nolan Scott » Thu May 25, 2006 5:45 am

In the Image Texture dialog box set the Fill mode to Stretch, and see how that works.
I just did a test with one of my textures (.jpg - 256 x 256 - RGB - “8Bit”).
Fill-mode Stretch and zoomed in the camera in my Moho 3D scene,
and the texture didn’t move at all.

Otherwise turn off Scale compensation in the Layer Settings,
but that might help only a little.

Cheers
Nolan
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Post by Ramón López » Thu May 25, 2006 11:09 am

...Don't wast your time treating make it works, simply you won't be able... If you want to get some results use masked Image Layers as a texture, a horrible way of work! :x But the only one actually :) ...CIAO!
User avatar
gtcable
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:02 pm

Post by gtcable » Thu May 25, 2006 1:33 pm

Thank you Ramón.
I think I understand what you're saying. Essentially I should create the shape and texture in Photoshop and import it as a PNG.

That seems like a sensible solution. :)
User avatar
gtcable
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Mar 15, 2006 4:02 pm

Post by gtcable » Thu May 25, 2006 7:11 pm

Even better still: I made the walls flush with the camera in Moho and rendered them out full screen. Saved the render as a PNG and imported it back in.

Worked great!
It looks exactly as Moho intended with the outlines without going through Photoshop.
:D
User avatar
Ramón López
Posts: 1802
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2004 1:41 pm
Location: Elda! Again...
Contact:

Post by Ramón López » Thu May 25, 2006 8:17 pm

gtcable wrote:I made the walls flush with the camera in Moho and rendered them out full screen. Saved the render as a PNG and imported it back in.
And that is exactly that I meaned with: Horrible way of work! :x But well...
Locked