Some basic problems

(This forum has been closed. Please use the General Moho Discussion forum.)

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, slowtiger

SJMarky

Some basic problems

Post by SJMarky »

I'm new to MOHO, but not to animation. I've done the tutorial, etc. I keep running in to some frustrating quirks:

1) My objects just disappear from the workspace. If I pan the scene around I can see them appear and disappear. I'm careful to have them imported at frame 1, transparency on, and they're clearly in front of other object in depth.
2) Sometimes I can bind a layer to a bone, sometimes I can't because the tool isn't available.
3) If I move around an imported MOHO object to get it positioned where I want, it will either disappear, sometimes except for the vector outlines, and sometimes it gets completely distorted.

Any help out there in MOHOland?
Can a no-talent hack make cartoons with just clip art and a Mac? You bet!
myles

Re: Some basic problems

Post by myles »

SJMarky wrote:1) My objects just disappear from the workspace. If I pan the scene around I can see them appear and disappear. I'm careful to have them imported at frame 1, transparency on, and they're clearly in front of other object in depth.
What sort of objects? Moho vector layers you created, imported Moho objects, imported images, movies, .ai/.eps files, 3D objects?
For instance, I'm not sure how Moho would render a 3D object if you were inside it and all the surface normals point away from the camera.

Panning how ? Camera tool? Hand tool? Are you using 3D manipulation?
Can you upload a sample file?

(Note: all object creation and import should be done on frame 0, not frame 1 - did you mean this? Are there any pink areas on your timeline when you select any of the problem layers in the Layers panel?)
SJMarky wrote:2) Sometimes I can bind a layer to a bone, sometimes I can't because the tool isn't available.
To bind a layer to a bone, it needs to be: