Rendering

Whatever...

Moderators: Fahim, Distinct Sun, Víctor Paredes, erey, Belgarath, slowtiger

Rendering

Postby toshiyori » Sun Oct 02, 2016 4:57 pm

Rendering during a character creation to see how it looks, does this cause any problems ?
Also, what is the shortcut for rendering ?
toshiyori
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:12 pm
Location: Palmetto Florida

Re: Rendering

Postby JimmyC » Sun Oct 02, 2016 7:11 pm

The hotkey for rendering is Ctrl+R and you will get a render of the size that you set in your File > Project Settings.

I can't see how it would cause any problems by doing a test render, I do it all the time :)
User avatar
JimmyC
 
Posts: 158
Joined: Thu Jul 05, 2007 5:10 pm
Location: UK

Re: Rendering

Postby toshiyori » Mon Oct 03, 2016 3:24 pm

Is there a recommended project settings for character creation ? I have looked for this and found too many variables. So, I am using the default.
toshiyori
 
Posts: 116
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2014 3:12 pm
Location: Palmetto Florida

Re: Rendering

Postby Greenlaw » Mon Oct 03, 2016 4:04 pm

About Project Settings: It depends on your intended output device or project requirement. I just use whatever the production's settings need to be, usually 720p or 1080p, since that's how it's ultimately going to be viewed anyway.

Sometimes I'll use double-res and scale down in post (After Effects or Fusion) to hammer out aliasing problems I may find.

Or I may render higher-res if the image is for print or if I need a hi-res texture for another program, like a 'card' in a 3D program. Exactly how much depends on your goal.

Framerate for animation is typically 24fps but it can be lower or higher depending on the requirements of the production (is the animation for a game, does it need to match the framerate of live video footage, etc., ?) Normally you want anti-aliasing enabled but maybe not if you intend to apply AA in another program or if you're going for a trendy 8-bit look.

If you're unsure, I would just stick with 720p and 24fps and leave AA enabled. Leave everything else in the window off unless you have a reason to turn it on.

For testing purposes, it's whatever you need it to be. Some users may use half-res just to speed up the renders; others may use double-res so they can see the details. Personally, I just leave it a the production's res--you can always zoom-in/out in the render view and reset the view when you need to.

Or you can keyframe the camera at different views on other frames. Also, remember we now have a mute switch in the timeline so you can toggle between different views by muting the camera or a group layer that's been transformed.
D.R. Greenlaw
Artist/Partner - Little Green Dog | Greenlaw's 2017 Demo Reel

Image
User avatar
Greenlaw
 
Posts: 3126
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 5:45 pm
Location: Los Angeles


Return to Miscellaneous Chit-Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests