supergami

Whatever...

Moderators: Víctor Paredes, Belgarath, slowtiger

human

supergami

Post by human »

As one way of honoring the resident gods, I offer news items about origami, such as this one:

http://blog.wired.com/underwire/2008/01 ... es-wi.html

Hope you enjoy
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

Woohooo!

Are you an Origami fan?

I have a bunch of Robert Lang's origami books. He is a total NUT! He is CRAZY with the folding. His are some of the most complex nearly impossible to fold models I have tried and I've been folding for nearly 30 years.

My favorite is still the cuckoo clock. Dang thing is 3D, with hands, pendulum, and a bird that pops out of the door. I tried all of his jazz band models. A 3D piano player AND piano and the guys arms move when you pull a flap and all of this out of one sheet of paper. The only thing I don't "approve" of is his use of "non-square" paper. I am a traditionalist. ;)

The whole concept of printing "crease patterns" of models is something new for me. I've been out of the loop with origami for a few years and missed out on this.

p.s. Many many years ago I was on a mailing list for origami. I forget now what it was called. My user name was "Origamiist" and I use to get email from people thinking that was some kind of... "sexual" reference. Freaked me out. First off there is an "i" in there... and the "s" is in the wrong spot completely. Couldn't those pervs read? ;)

-vern
human

Post by human »

[quote="heyvern"]Are you an Origami fan?

No, I don't follow origami, but if there were some other topic that I knew was so enjoyable to any members of the forum, I would post a link I'd found on that, too.

Seems like the least we can do to appreciate people who give lots of help.
Last edited by human on Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
heyvern

Post by heyvern »

Yes, this was waaaaay back in the early days of AOL and that cool new thing called "IM".